Manuscript Division

Library of Congress


2nd Street and Independence Avenue SE
Washington DC 20540

Finding Aids

In addition to the finding aids mentioned above (most of which are unpublished draft "registers" that describe groups of documents in varying detail), there are also published descriptions of some holdings, including Library of Congress, Annual Report for the fiscal years 1897 to date; Library of Congress, Handbook of Manuscripts (1918) and its supplements; Library of Congress, Quarterly Journal (until 1964 the Quarterly Journal of Current Acquisitions), 1943 to date; Library of Congress, Manuscript Sources on Manuscript: A Checklist (1975). The Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress, established in 1897, contains approximately 10,000 separate collections. Among these are the papers of roughly half of the persons who served as U.S. secretary of state and of 23 presidents from George Washington to Calvin Coolidge (other presidential papers, from Hoover to Johnson, are kept in presidential libraries). References to Russia undoubtedly abound in these papers, but no attempt has been made to describe all of these in detail (see note at the end of this entry). Russian related materials in other groups of documents have been described as much as possible, mostly on the basis of available finding aids.


The following groups of documents have or may have materials pertaining to Russia or Russian-American relations:

(a) The papers of U.S. presidents, including Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, James Madison, James Monroe, Theodore Roosevelt, and Woodrow Wilson. All these papers are on microfilm and have name indexes.

(b) The papers of U.S. secretaries of state, including Henry Clay, Bainbridge Colby, Charles Evans Hughes, Cordell Hull, Robert Lansing, and Henry Alfred Kissinger (restricted).

(c) The papers of Frederick Lewis Allen, Vannevar Bush, William E. Dodd, John William Draper, Tom Terry Connally, James John Davis, Henry P. Fletcher, Theodore Francis Green, Nelson Trusler Johnson, Jesse Holmes Jones, Peyton C. March, George Fort Milton, Charles Linza McNary, George Foster Peabody, Key Pittman, Donald Randall Richberg, Frances Bowes Sayre, Eric Arnold Sevareid, William Boyce Thompson, and Henry Agard Wallace.

Resources (207)